Thankful Thursday

Today, I’m thankful for a healthy (and full term!) pregnancy.  And I’m thankful that little Ella’s ultrasounds and non-stress tests have all been perfect.

Tomorrow, at the recommendation of the Perinatalogist, I’ll be getting induced (at exactly 40 weeks!) and will finally be able to meet our Ella Gail. 

This morning, I had the very difficult,  heartbreaking task of drafting a sympathy note to a family at our church.  On Wednesday they lost their newborn son.  Baby W was born with a hole in his heart and wasn’t able to recover from the surgery they performed earlier this week.  He was only 10 weeks old.

I can’t imagine what his parents and two older brothers are going through right now.  Tomorrow I welcome a beautiful baby girl into the world and on Saturday they will be saying goodbye to a little boy that will forever be in their hearts and on their minds.

9 Comments

Filed under Family, Life, Thankful

9 responses to “Thankful Thursday

  1. Congratulations on your baby girl but why are you getting induced? If I can ask? And heartbreaking news for the other family…..

    • Thanks! The doctors have been taking the “better safe than sorry” approach throughout my 3rd trimester since Ella has been measuring about 3 weeks smaller than a “normal” baby. All of the scans have turned out perfectly, however, and they say she’s strong and healthy.

      I’m 4cm, 100% thinned, and my membranes were stripped yesterday. I’ve already given Hubby the “heads up” that with the way I’ve been feeling today, we may end up going to the hospital tonight.

  2. Congratulations on your baby girl, Ella. Yes, it’s always worse and more heart breaking than ever when someone has to bury their children. However, you keep your thoughts positive and on your new baby and your husband.

  3. Congrats to you! Sorry you have to be induced. Be well!

  4. I’m sorry for this other family and their loss.

  5. So exciting for tomorrow! I can see how writing that letter would make you appreciate the joy of it even more. I agree with everyone else – focus on that and don’t let the sadness sour it for you. Can’t wait for baby pictures!

Leave a Reply

