WiP Wednesday- Periwinkle Socks and Ella

image

The lovely Periwinkle Sock, perched atop Ella.

I’m two repeats shy of the heel flap on sock number two!  This one is going much faster than the first since I’ve now memorized the lace pattern.  That, and my crafting deadline is fast approaching and there are several more things I’d love to knit in the next few weeks.  Oh, and the housework is slowly being abandoned due to my rather severe back and sciatic pain.  It has me laid up and the only thing that can be done for it is rest and compresses, unfortunately.  It’s given me a bit more knitting time, though. I’m just glad I live too far away for “pop in” visitors.  The state of my house and yard is pretty embarrassing right now!

image

A close-up of the lace and stitch pattern. This yarn has great stitch definition.

As for today’s second WiP… Ella and I had another check up.  Two doctor visits (a Perinatalogist and regular OBGYN) a week is pretty tiresome, but today was the all important “growth check”.  At 2 days shy of 36 weeks, she weighs in at 4lbs 12oz (give or take 15% since ultrasounds aren’t entirely accurate).  She’s measuring and weighing in at what a “normal” 33 week baby would.  She gained a little over a pound in the last 2 weeks, and that seemed to make the Perinatalogist quite happy. 

It’s not like her big sister is a bruiser, either.  At 17 months old, Hannah is only 22lbs.  Goodness, my cousin’s infant son is right on her tail and he isn’t even 6 months old, yet.  I just make tiny babies, apparently, and I’m certainly not going to complain about that!  ;)

10 Comments

Filed under Crafts, Family, Knitting, Life

10 responses to “WiP Wednesday- Periwinkle Socks and Ella

  1. Great news! Eva is 23lbs and change at 22.5 months. I make short and fat babies who turn into small toddlers. :)

    Great progress on the sock! I’m so wishing I had a long size 3 circ right now. I’m dpn-ing a glove. :/

    • Ouch! I guess for the short, fat babies AND the dpn-ing. Lol

      I need to buy sizes 0 and 3 and then I should be all set in the circs department. My LYS sells Knitters Pride and I liked the size 1 I purchased from them, so I’ll probably stick with that brand. It’s amazing how much faster I am at magic looping than dpns. Plus, I really, really hate laddering!

  2. Love baby bump! The socks are so cute too! You work so neatly!

  3. Oh my, those are gorgeous! Is the pattern on Ravelry?

    • The pattern is from Nancy Bush’s Knitting Vintage Socks. It’s the book I relearned how to knit with after taking about an 8 year break in my teens. Every single pattern I’ve made from that book has been awesome! I heartily recommend buying it.

      This one is the Child’s French Sock ( http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/childs-french-sock ). If you check out my Ravelry projects, I’m pretty sure every single sock I’ve made (apart from the baby ones) has come from Nancy’s book. :)

Leave a Reply

