Family Christmas Stockings- 3 Down

I have finally finished the three stockings for the grandkids.  The grown ups will most likely get matching, replacement stockings over the next year or so. 

image

Stockings for Hannah, Ella, and Z

The photo is pretty terrible, I’ll admit.  I snapped the picture in the afternoon because I didn’t feel like waiting until the next morning (when the light in my Sunroom is just about perfect).

The stockings are knit in good old Red Heart Super Saver (a generous destash from my friend), and I’m not ashamed of using it.  Lol  I couldn’t see spending money on “fancy” wool or cotton for something that’s only going to be used once a year and then stored in my parents’ basement. I think the acrylic should hold up well and I don’t have to worry so much about critters eating my hard work. 

image

For my nephew, due around Christmas.

I knit the stockings longer (14″) to match the length of the ones that my Mommom knit for us years and years ago.  I recommend doing at least one extra gusset decrease round, maybe even two.  I did one extra because, in my opinion, the foot looks fat and goofy if you don’t.

image

I love the slight “country” look of the stockings with the burgundy/cream color combo and the cute green gingham ribbon.  The button was a great way to attach the hanger.  I didn’t have to worry about making the ends of the ribbon neat and pretty and the button adds a bit more strength and stability (since my Mom loves to overstuff our stockings).

All the pattern details can be found here on my Ravelry page.

9 Comments

Filed under Crafts, Family, Knitting

9 responses to “Family Christmas Stockings- 3 Down

  1. Those are really cute! I, too, love the ribbon.

  2. They’re lovely. I’m doing some as well – on a loom! My first is a bit small and stretchy so I know my second will need to be with more yarn added.

  3. Adorable! Hmm, I wonder if I could whip a few up before Christmas…

    • It knits up really fast with the ww yarn and big needles. To make it even quicker, you could skip the linen stitch heel flap (the detail is hard to see with the dark yarn) and work it completely in st st.

Leave a Reply

