Pretty in Pink- FINISHED

It’s done and I absolutely loooove it.  I only wish I could see it on a real live baby. .  But I can wait and Ella can take her time getting here.  I don’t want another one coming a month early.

image

My Ravelry project page for Pretty in Pink is rather lengthy and has all the specs.

image

I mostly followed the pattern, only deviating twice.  I went down a needle size to get gauge and to end up with a proper newborn sized sweater.  I also tapered the cuffs of the sleeves by decreasing every other stitch on the first garter stitch round.  I’m very happy with the resulting cuffs.

image

The Cascade sock yarn is soft and lovely to work with.  It’s also pretty economical.

image

To me, the buttons are absolute perfection.  The fact that they came from my Mommom makes them even better.

image

It’s really hard to get a good picture of the bonnet.  I’m sure it’ll look a lot better when worn.  This photograph is of my great great grandmother, Ella, the namesake of our soon-to-arrive second princess. 

image

It’s probably a bit hard to tell, but this is the inside of the bonnet.  I decided to run the ribbon down the length of the neck edge (rather than stitching two lengths of ribbon to the corners) to hide that ridge that always happens when you pick up stitches to knit a border.  It’ll also keep the corners of the bonnet from pulling and stretching when it’s tied. I folded the 1 inch ribbon in half and used teeny tiny whip stitches to tack it down.

18 Comments

Filed under Crafts, Knitting

18 responses to “Pretty in Pink- FINISHED

  1. You need a button to push for precious! I just love this!

  2. Hannah Rose

    This is absolutely perfect!

  3. It’s absolutely beautiful!

  4. Your pretty in pink turned out perfectly! Baby Ella will look totally adorable dressed in this set ❤

  5. Wow. So pretty. I said that right to start with : )
    I’m working on a baby blanket which I have no-one to give it to. My sons are not even teenagers yet!!

  6. To quote the Golden Girls: Thank you for being a friend! You are a true inspiration to me and to show you how much you are appreciated I have nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award! http://allnightknitter.wordpress.com/2013/07/04/the-very-inspiring-blogger-award-for-me/

  7. Oh how adorable! And even more so when you’re little one is wearing it! You’re so creative!

  8. Pingback: Super Sweet Blogging Award | teabeaknits blog

  9. Pingback: WiP Wednesday- Big Sister Hat & Family Stockings | Sara Crafts

  10. Pingback: Hospital Hat- Finished | Sara Crafts

Leave a Reply

