Pretty in Pink- The Bonnet & Some Blocking

Let’s get right to the good stuff. . . A blocking photo!

image

The sweater and (mostly finished) bonnet are happily drying on the couch cushion I use as a make shift blocking mat.   The bonnet still needs its garter stitch bottom edge.   I couldn’t decide wether to block before or after adding the edge.  I even posed my query to my friend, Meghan, for her opinion. In the end, I decided to pick up the edge stitches post-blocking because the edges of the lace were a tad wonky and curled quite a bit.  I think I’ll have a much easier time getting a neat, clean edge. 

The bonnet is basically a rectangle.  After 5 lace repeats, you cast on 11 more stitches and join for working ITR.
*
*

image

*
*
Then, it’s just a bunch of rounds of decreasing until you end up with 10 stitches.

image

*
*

image

*
*

image

Easy peasy.

3 Comments

Filed under Crafts, Knitting

3 responses to “Pretty in Pink- The Bonnet & Some Blocking

  1. Oh, *that* edge. For some reason I thought you were talking about the “end” edge. :) These pictures aren’t helping me control the urge to make one for Kirsi!

  2. This is gorgeous! I adore the construction for the hat! I gotta try it!

Leave a Reply

