WiP Wednesday and Such

What’s that shiny, cheerful thing up in the sky?! It’s the SUN! The weather here has been very stormy and rainy so we haven’t seen much of Mister Sun in the last week and a half. Our basement flooded several times and I’m looking forward to it finally drying out and for that awful musty/moldy smell to go away.

Wednesday is Clean Linen Day here at the house and the sunny, breezy weather is perfect for line drying. Hannah spent some time exploring the soggy backyard while I hung the sheets and hand towels on the clothesline.
*
*
image

*
*
image

*
*
The baby sweater is slowly but surely getting done. My brain had been feeling especially foggy lately and Hubby said that I looked exhausted all the time. I guess it’s because I get up very early with Hannah and stay up late to spend time with Hubby. I was spreading myself too thin and Hubby said I have to rest during at least one of Hannah’s naps from now on. It has definitely been helping my brain and I’m not so cranky now. : ) My knitting time has been cut down since I try to knit during her naps, so it’s taking me a little longer to make progress.
*
*
image

*
*
I finished the length and started the first sleeve. The pattern was a little unclear in the sleeve department, it turns out.

The directions say to transfer the sleeve stitches onto the needle, then pick up 8 stitches and start knitting in the round. The lace wasn’t lining up and after 20 minutes of head scratching, I figured out that the round was supposed to start in the middle of the picked up stitches (4 picked up stitches, then the transferred sleeve stitches, followed by the last 4 picked up stitches).

Also, in order for the lace pattern to line up on rounds 7, 9, and 11, you have to slip the last stitch of the previous round to the beginning of those 3 rounds (so that it’s the first stitch on the new round). Does that make sense?

I hope you all are enjoying a nice, sunny day like we are here by the Jersey Shore.

6 Comments

Filed under Crafts, Knitting, Life, Photos

6 responses to “WiP Wednesday and Such

  1. Looking good! Ella is going to look super cute wearing it!

    P.S. I’m jealous. I wish I had a clothesline. :(

  2. Flooding is no fun! Good to hear you’re back to enjoying some sunshine :) I’d love to have a clothesline too… Goodness knows it’s windy enough around here! The farmer’s field behind our place would make everything dusty, though ❤

    • I think I’d give up my clothesline to get out of the suburbs and live a little further from the summer beach crowd. : ) I would love to be surrounded by farmland!

      • Living in a tourist hotspot can be a bit of a drag. Looking out the front of our house, we’re surrounded by other houses. It is VERY nice to not have neighbours in the back ❤

Leave a Reply

