WIPs

(That’s “Works in Progress” for you non-crafters)

I try my hardest not to start any projects until my current ones are finished.  While I am pretty successful, some crafts tend to languish around for awhile anyway.   Here are my current WIPs:

This one’s embarrassing.  It’s a patchwork quilt I started back in… wait for it… 1999.  Seriously.  To my credit,  it’s taken this long because I had the brilliant (or stupid?) idea to hand stitch the entire quilt.  All 2,277 hexagons, plus the quilting.

Grandmother's Flower Garden

It’s spent years packed away in closets or hanging on the back of my bedroom rocker.  Now that the weather is starting to get chilly, I should take it out and try to finish it up.  Almost all of the “flowers” have been quilted, but the green and yellow borders haven’t even been touched.  I may quilt a few of them here and there and work my way out so I can at least put the binding on and get rid of the pins.  That way it can be used while the rest of the green and yellow hexagons get quilted.

Back in the summer of ’08, I started a crocheted tablecloth.  It’s a join-as-you-go pattern that I faithfully worked on for at least 6 months… and only got 1/4 of the way done.  This one is shoved waaay back in the closet and I have no desire to finish it at the moment.  Maybe once we move I’ll want to complete it to decorate my dining table.  Maybe.  It really is a beautiful pattern, though.  And I made so many motifs that I had the pattern memorized.  This picture shows the cloth in the beginning stages.  I ended up completing about 5 or 6 rows, lengthwise.

Pineapple Lace Tablecloth

My newest WIP is a sweater in fingering weight cotton on size 2 needles.  My dear friend, Meghan, bought me the yarn and shiny new circular to make this.  Happy 25th birthday to me!  I’ve only been working on it for 2 months, but the body is already finished and I’m working on the first sleeve cap.  But then I started Christmas knitting and have been busy cranking out these dratted mini sweaters.  My poor Thermal sweater is stuck in the knitting basket for now.  I don’t have any pictures of it yet, but I did snap a photo of the yarn, gauge swatch, and needles when I first started it.  You can read the details on my Ravelry project page.

Gauge swatch in Knit Picks Comfy "Seafoam"

Leave a comment

Filed under Crafts, Crochet, Knitting

Leave a Reply

